Robot 6

Winners announced for 2010 Ignatz Awards

Ignatz Awards

The winners of the 14th annual Ignatz Awards were announced Saturday during the Small Press Expo in Bethesda, Maryland.

Named for the character in George Herriman’s classic comic strip Krazy Kat, the Ignatz Awards are a festival prize recognizing outstanding achievement in comics and cartooning. SPX attendees vote on nominees selected by a panel of five cartoonists (this year the jury members were Anders Nilsen, David Kelly, Rob G, Joshua Cotter and Trevor Alixopulos).

The winners of the 2010 Ignatz Awards are:

Outstanding Artist
Eddie Campbell, Alec: The Years Have Pants (A Life-Sized Omnibus) (Top Shelf Productions)

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
Masterpiece Comics, R. Sikoryak (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Graphic Novel
Market Day, James Sturm (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Story
Monsters, Ken Dahl (Secret Acres)

Promising New Talent
Matt Wiegle, “The Orphan Baiter,” Papercutter #13 (Tugboat Press)

Outstanding Series
Ganges, Kevin Huizenga (Fantagraphics Books)

Outstanding Comic
I Want You, Lisa Hanawalt (Buenaventura Press)

Outstanding Mini-Comic
Rambo 3.5, Jim Rugg

Outstanding Online Comic
Troop 142, Mike Dawson



Wow, the Years Have Pants won best artist? Over Al Columbia? Really? That is pretty Goddamn terrible.

Congrats for Rambo 3.5. I read it recently and really enjoyed the artwork on it. Gorgeous stuff.

Leave a Comment


Browse the Robot 6 Archives