Robot 6

Xeric Foundation announces final grant winners

The Xeric Foundation, the nonprofit organization founded in 1992 by Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles co-creator Peter Laird, has announced its final grant recipients:

• Laurianne Uy, Polterguys
• Max Badger, Oak
• Arwen Donahue, Old Man Gloom
• Marnie Galloway, In the Sounds and Seas: Vol. 1
• Olivia Horvath, Tiny Bangs
• Aidan Koch, The Blonde Woman
• John Malta, The Professor and the Paperboy
• Hazel Newelvant, Ci Vediamo
• Shih-Mu Dino Pi, Dear Beloved Stranger
• Liz Plourde and Randy Michaels, How I Made the World
• Benjamin Seto, Usagi Jane and the Skullbunnies
• Darin Shuler, Castle Wood
• Caitlin Skaalrud, Sea Change: A Choose-Your-Own-Way Story
• Bernard Stiegler, The Reptile Mind
• Laura Terry, Overboard
• Elaine M. Will, Look Straight Ahead
• M Young, Wild Child

A combined $74,510 was awarded to help creators publish their comics. Laird announced in July 2011 that he was ending the self-publishing grants because changes in technology now allow creators to release their work online. The organization has awarded more than $2.5 million since 1992.



Congratulations to all the winners! I can’t wait to check out everybody’s work. It looks our link goes to the wrong website. Check out How i Made the World at

Congrats to all!

I’m a little bummed that it’s ending. I wished they would have refocused it from self-publishing to more of a do whatever you want comics-wise grant. Be it from investing in a good site, to living off it so the story could REALLY develop, to actually piblishing it. Xeric holds a good prestige, and comics really do need an art grant of their own. Maybe he could give to a college or something. Ohio would be a great fit.

But, maybe he just doesn’t have anymore money now that his turtles are gone.

Also, maybe CBR could do a retrospective interview with him? I’d be curious to find out what his favorites were over the years.

Leave a Comment


Browse the Robot 6 Archives