Robot 6

‘The Middleman’ plots return in crowd-funded graphic novel

middlemanFans of Javier Grillo-Marxuach and Les McClaine’s The Middleman, rejoice: The writer has announced plans to resurrect the beloved comic turned short-lived television series as graphic novel funded with the help of crowdfunding.

Debuting in 2005 from Viper Comics, The Middleman centers on Wendy Watson, a struggling young artist who’s recruited by a secret agency to fight evil alongside the Middleman, a title and job passed from one incarnation to the next. The comic was released as two miniseries and a graphic novel before it was optioned by ABC Family for the short-lived TV show starring Matt Keesler and Natalie Morales. A subsequent graphic novel, billed as the show’s “series finale,” was published in 2009.

According to the post on Grillo-Marxuach’s blog, McClaine will return for the new project, which bridges the comic-book and television continuities. What’s more, “the original series cast has agreed to reunite for a live reading of the script to serve as a crowdfunding premium.”

The crowdfunding effort is targeted to launch later this year, with the graphic novel to arrive in time for Comic-Con International 2014.

(via io9.com)

News From Our Partners

Comments

3 Comments

I wonder if they could crowd fund a Middleman movie with the original stars of the short lived, but wonderful, tv series.

I will definitely back this – I love Middleman!

Andrew Collins

July 12, 2013 at 7:06 pm

I recently checked to see if any of the collections are available on Amazon and they are, of course, OOP and people selling them are asking premium prices, so I wouldn’t mind a reprint of the older material so I can read it. I missed it the first time around but would love to try it out after reading so many good reviews of both the comic and the TV show…

Leave a Comment

 



Browse the Robot 6 Archives