Carnage Archives - Robot 6 @ Comic Book Resources

The guy with the Stan Lee tattoo

Kelly Rogers and John Engle (via WFME)

Kelly Rogers and John Engle (via WFME)

With the help of tattoo artist Kelly Rogers, lifelong comics fan John Engle has spent the past year transforming his back into a tribute to the characters he loves. There, Spider-Man, the Hulk, Carnage and Venom share space with Batman, The Joker and Spawn — Engle enjoys a good intercompany crossover.

However, there was one thing missing: Stan Lee’s seal of approval. And over the weekend at MegaCon in Orlando, Florida, Engle got it. The legendary creator signed his back, just above Spider-Man (where else?), then Rogers made the famous signature permanent.

Continue Reading »

Ride in superhero style with these custom motorcycle helmets

superhero-helmets

Last year we spotlighted a pretty stylish Dark Knight-inspired motorcycle helmet, but what if you prefer, say, The Punisher, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles or Wonder Woman to Batman? AirGraffix has you covered.

The Mattoon, Illinois-based company specializes in custom-painted helmets that can transform the rider into everyone from Goku and Deadpool to Iron Man and Spawn. It’s not all superheroes or comic books, either; there’s an assortment of Star Wars, Transformers and Power Rangers designs, for starters.

Continue Reading »

Spidey vs. Doc Ock, ‘Ghost in the Shell’ among new Mondo prints

mondo-spiderman2

By Mike Sutfin

Sometime today, in its usual fashion, the collectible-art boutique Mondo will announce the availability of four limited-edition prints that should be of particular interest to fans of animation and of a certain wall-crawler (and his foes).

There’s Martin Ansin‘s Ghost in the Shell and Mike Sutfin‘s Spider-Man vs. Doctor Octopus, joined by two posters that had been offered at MondoCon: DKNG StudiosThe Iron Giant, and Randy Ortiz‘s Carnage.

Continue Reading »

Digital painter Clayton Crain opens up with ‘Evolver’ art book

header

Washington-based artist Clayton Crain has carved out a niche for himself in comics over the past 15 years with his distinctive, sinewy digital art on the likes of Ghost Rider, X-Force and Carnage. But that wasn’t always his style, and he wants to pull back the curtain to show his evolution as an artist in a new book called Evolver.

Announced today with a a Kickstarter campaign, Evolver is a 48-page hardcover profiling Crain’s work from the age of 15 all the way to his current output for Valiant. The 8-inch by12-inch book will include sketchwork, high school-era art and excerpts from Crain’s forthcoming creator-owned Into a Rift. His influences are deep in the vein of Todd McFarlane and Henry Stinson, and this book will show you Crain’s dynamic evolution from his high-school days as an early Image fanboy into the 2000s, where he found his own signature style and even did work alongside McFarlane. Crain hopes to raise $10,400 by Aug. 10, and have the finished book available in November.

Continue Reading »


Browse the Robot 6 Archives