Christophe Blain Archives | Robot 6 | The Comics Culture Blog

Four French creators refuse Order of Arts and Letters honor

chevalier medal

Four of the eight cartoonists honored last week by the French government as Knights of the Order of Arts and Letters have refused the title, condemning it as a publicity stunt.

Julie Maroh, Chloé Cruchaudet, TanXXX and Aurélie Neyret have announced publicly they will not accept the honor, which recognizes contributions to arts and literature in France. However, Riad Sattouf, author of Arab of the Future, released a statement saying he’ll “accept it with pleasure.”

Continue Reading »

French Minister of Culture honors eight creators


Aya: Love in Yop City

Eight creators were named last week as Knights of France’s Order of Arts and Letters in recognition of their contributions to arts and literature.

Fleur Pellerin, the French Minister of Culture, made the announcement Thursday at the opening night of the Angouleme International Comics Festival. The creators are: Julie Maroh, Chloé Cruchaudet, Aurélie Neyret, Tanxxx, Marguerite Abouet, Christophe Blain, Mathieu Sapi, and Riad Sattouf.

Continue Reading »

10 creators withdraw names from Angouleme Grand Prix list [Updated!]

Julie Maroh's drawing from the BDEgalite website

Julie Maroh’s drawing from the BDEgalite website

Ten comics creators have withdrawn their names from consideration for this year’s Grand Prix d’Angouleme, in protest that the list of 30 nominees doesn’t include a single woman.

As of this morning, Daniel Clowes, Chris Ware, Charles Burns, Riad Sattouf, Joann Sfar, Milo Manara, Pierre Christin, Etienne Davodeau, Christophe Blain and Brian Michael Bendis have indicated, personally or through their publishers, that they are joining the boycott launched by the French group BD Egalite.

Meanwhile, Franck Bondoux, executive officer of the Angouleme International Comics Festival, defended the choices in the French newspaper Le Monde, saying the Grand Prix is a lifetime achievement award for artists who have reached a certain age. “Unfortunately, there are few women in the history of comics,” he said. “That’s the reality. Similarly, if you go to the Louvre, you will find few women artists.”

Continue Reading »

TCAF adds Jeff Smith, Luke Pearson, Christophe Blain and more


The Toronto Comic Arts Festival has expanded its already-impressive creator lineup with the addition of international guests Christophe Blain, Abel Lanzac, Luke Pearson, Jeff Smith, Mimi Pond and Kuš.

“The comics medium is thoroughly celebrated the world over,” Festival Director Christopher Butcher said in a statement. “I’ve had the great fortune to travel around the world, and I’ve seen how both the medium and its authors are highly-regarded … it’s my privilege to bring a little bit of that sentiment, that respect, back to Canada through TCAF.”

Previously announced featured guests for the May 10-11 event include Darwyn Cooke, Michael Deforge, Lynn Johnston, Kazu Kibuishi, Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki.

Willem and Akira Toriyama win top Angoulême honors

Dutch cartoonist Willem was presented with the Grand Prix award over the weekend in France at the 40th annual Angoulême International Comics Festival, honoring his lifetime achievement. In addition, Dragon Ball and Dr. Slump creator Akira Toriyama was awarded a special Grand Prix recognizing his 40-year career.

As the recipient of the Grand Prix, Willem will serve as president of next year’s festival.

The other major prize winners, courtesy of The Comics Reporter, were:

Prix du meilleur album
Quai d’Orsay Volume Two: Chroniques diplomatiques, Christophe Blain and Abel Lanzac (Dargaud)

Prix spécial du jury
Le Nao de Brown, Glyn Dillon (Akileos)

Continue Reading »

Browse the Robot 6 Archives