Clayton Crain Archives - Robot 6 @ Comic Book Resources

Clayton Crain designs beer label to benefit The Hero Initiative

hero-pint-social

After teaming with Fables creator Bill Willingham and Boom Island Brewing Company in Minneapolis for a special beer label, The Hero Initiative is taking the show west, to California.

The charity, which is dedicated to helping creators in financial need, has partnered with Los Angeles brewery MacLeod Ale for a limited-edition label for The King’s Taxes Scottish ale, designed by Ghost Rider and Carnage artist Clayton Crain. The art will appear on a limited run of bottles, signed prints and commemorative glasses. Proceeds from sales of the items will benefit The Hero Initiative.

Continue Reading »

Digital painter Clayton Crain opens up with ‘Evolver’ art book

header

Washington-based artist Clayton Crain has carved out a niche for himself in comics over the past 15 years with his distinctive, sinewy digital art on the likes of Ghost Rider, X-Force and Carnage. But that wasn’t always his style, and he wants to pull back the curtain to show his evolution as an artist in a new book called Evolver.

Announced today with a a Kickstarter campaign, Evolver is a 48-page hardcover profiling Crain’s work from the age of 15 all the way to his current output for Valiant. The 8-inch by12-inch book will include sketchwork, high school-era art and excerpts from Crain’s forthcoming creator-owned Into a Rift. His influences are deep in the vein of Todd McFarlane and Henry Stinson, and this book will show you Crain’s dynamic evolution from his high-school days as an early Image fanboy into the 2000s, where he found his own signature style and even did work alongside McFarlane. Crain hopes to raise $10,400 by Aug. 10, and have the finished book available in November.

Continue Reading »


Browse the Robot 6 Archives