comics awards Archives | Robot 6 | The Comics Culture Blog

Winners of the first British Comics Awards are announced

The winners of the 2012 British Comics Awards were announced Saturday evening at the Thought Bubble convention in Leeds. This is the first year for the awards, which were announced in January. Here’s the list of winners:

Best Book
Nelson, edited by Rob Davis and Woodrow Phoenix

Best Comic
Bad Machinery, by John Allison

Emerging Talent
Josceline Fenton

Young People’s Comic Award
Hilda and the Midnight Giant, by Luke Pearson

Hall of Fame Award
Raymond Briggs

Continue Reading »

NCS invites webcomics creators to the party

It’s not exactly pirates vs. ninjas, but there has been, shall we say, some ill feeling between webcomics creators and the National Cartoonists Society over the years. But there comes a time to put away childish things, including feuds, and this year the NCS actually invited three webcomics creators—Kate Beaton, Randall Munroe, and Dave Kellett—to present a panel at their annual meeting, which was held this past weekend in Boston. Naturally, Kellett worked this event, along with some of the high points of the evening, into his daily webcomic, Sheldon.

The big news of the evening was that Richard Thompson won the award for outstanding cartoonist of the year, an honor that anyone who reads Cul de Sac can tell you was well deserved. The award for best newspaper strip went to Jeff Parker and Steve Kelley’s Dustin, Jill Thompson won the Best Comic Book Award for Beast of Burden, and Joyce Farmer took Best Graphic Novel honors for Special Exits.

TCAF | Doug Wright Awards, Sequential zine, more confiscated comics

Too hot for Toronto?

Another Toronto Comic Arts Festival has come and gone, leaving in its wake a lot of broke-but-smiling comics fans, a couple of artists with a new cause celebre, and some interesting reading.

As we reported on Friday, Canadian customs seized all five copies of the Black Eye comics anthology that creator Tom Neely was trying to bring to TCAF. The news was originally reported by Ryan Standfest, editor and publisher of Rotland Press + Comic Works, at The Comics Journal, and Ryan adds in comments that Blaise Larmee’s Young Lions was also seized from Sparkplug publisher Dylan Williams. (For those who are curious about what’s too hot for Canada, here is a preview.) Standfest posted his reaction to the Black Eye confiscation at the Rotland blog; I’m sure there will be more to say about this soon.

The winners of the Doug Wright Awards were announced on Saturday night: Pascal Girard’s Bigfoot won the award for Best Book, Alex Fellows won the Best Emerging Talent award for Spain and Morocco, and the Pigskin Peters Award, given to non-traditional and avant-garde comics, went to Michael DeForge’s Spotting Deer.

Meanwhile, the folks at the Canadian comcs news blog Sequential have posted a special TCAF edition of Sequential Pulp, which you can download as a PDF or read via Issu, with lots of good stuff, including interviews with Jillian Tamaki and Mark Laliberte, books reviews by Tom Spurgeon, Salgood Sam, and others, and pages and pages of original comics. It’s all free, so go, browse.

Matt Fraction wins first-ever PEN USA Literary Award for Graphic Literature

Matt Fraction and friend

Matt Fraction and friend

That’s the Award-Winning Iron Man to you, pal: Invincible Iron Man, Uncanny X-Men, Casanova and Thor scribe Matt Fraction has won the 2010 PEN USA Literary Award for Graphic Literature. The award, given for the very first time this year, is part of a slate awarded annually by the California-based PEN Center USA, the West Coast branch of the prestigious writers’ organization and free-speech advocacy group International PEN. Fraction received the award, according to PEN USA’s press release, “for his outstanding body of work.”

The PEN USA Literary Awards also cover fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, research nonfiction, children’s/young adult literature, journalism, translation, drama, screenplay and teleplay, as well as granting The University of California Press Exceptional First Book Award. Each winner receives a prize of $1,000.

To give you some idea of the company Fraction’s keeping, past winners include Woody Allen, Rudolfo Anaya, Paul Thomas Anderson, Ray Bradbury, T.C. Boyle, Sandra Cisneros, George Clooney, Cameron Crowe, Ariel & Will Durant, Carrie Fisher, Betty Friedan, Matt Groening, Vaclav Havel, Charlie Kaufman, Barbara Kingsolver, Maxine Hong Kingston, Ursula K. Le Guin, Dan Savage, Neil Simon, Oliver Stone, Michael Tolkin, Gus Van Sant, Gore Vidal, Alice Walker, Billy Wilder, and Steven Zaillian.

(via Fraction’s Twitter)

Voting is open for the Lulu Awards

Voting for the Lulu Awards is now open to the public, and the online ballot is here. The winners will be announced at the Long Beach Comic Con on October 29.

This has been a tough year for the Friends of Lulu, but they seem to be getting off to a fresh start with a new Board of Directors, and the fact that they were able to pull the awards together so quickly is a good sign.

(Full disclosure: I was a judge for last year’s Lulu Awards.)

Hit the jump for a full list of awards and nominees. Then pick your favorites and VOTE!!

Continue Reading »

Straight for the art | Manapul’s Golden Age Superman



Artist Francis Manapul shares this absolutely stunning image of the Golden Age Superman he drew for the poster promoting this year’s Joe Shuster Awards. Check out his blog to see the full design process.

Via Dean Trippe

2009 Joe Shuster Award nominees announced

The nominees for the 2009 Joe Shuster Awards, which honor Canadian comics creators, were announced today. The five-year-old awards program is named after Joe Shuster, co-creator of Superman. The list of nominees this year includes Darwyn Cooke, J. Torres, Karl Kerschl, Dave Sim, Kathryn & Stuart Immonen, Faith Erin Hicks and Seth, among many others.

Check out the full list of nominees in the press release after the jump.

Continue Reading »

Comics A.M. | The comics Internet in two minutes

Eisner Awards

Eisner Awards

Awards | Nominations for the 2009 Will Eisner Comics Industry Awards are due today. [Eisner Awards]

Webcomics | Cartoonist Jane Irwin is rethinking her earlier decision to end her historical webcomic Clockwork Comics because of her concerns over the depiction of racial stereotypes: “… I’m reconsidering my stance on permanently ending the book. Let’s call it a hiatus for now; the end of the first chapter’s a good stopping point. In any event, I need to pull back and do a lot more reading and researching, then re-evaluate the first half of the book to see if it’s something I can fix to better match the much darker tone of the second half.” [Clockwork Comics, via Johanna Draper Carlson]

Creators | Kevin Huizenga, Ted May and Dan Zettwoch, creators of the recently canceled Amazing Facts … and Beyond! with Leon Beyond, are seeking commissions and donations to keep the strip alive online. [Amazing Facts, via FLOG!]

Awards | Don MacPherson questions the legitimacy of ForeWord Magazine‘s Book of the Year Awards, which charges an entry fee. [Eye on Comics]

Blogosphere | Robot 6 contributors Lisa Fortuner and Melissa Krause are looking for someone to take over their linkblog When Fangirls Attack. [When Fangirls Attack]

Process | Artist Ben Templesmith and writer Chris Ryall provides glimpses behind the scenes of IDW Publishing’s Groom Lake#2. [Templesmith’s blog, Ryall’s blog]

Comics | A primer for DC Comics’ “Blackest Night” event. []

Comics | Eight miraculous superhero resurrections. [Mental Floss]

Browse the Robot 6 Archives