Harry Potter Archives | Robot 6 | The Comics Culture Blog

The wizarding world currency of Harry Potter decoded for Muggles

FB_HarryPotter

“Harry Potter” author J.K. Rowling is a genius at coming up with new languages, foreign lands, and unusual names. Her ability to create compelling fantasy stories is aided by the fact that she accounts for every detail. The same could be said for the system of currency she developed for the world of “Harry Potter.”

Continue Reading »

Official anime-style ‘Harry Potter’ characters are even cuter than you imagined

potter-anime-social

While chibi versions of Harry Potter characters have been around nearly as long as the novels themselves, the illustrations have never been official — until now. Needless to say, they’re adorable.

Warner Bros. and J.K. Rowling have given their blessing to a line of anime-style Harry Potter merchandise, available exclusively in Japan (although we imagine enterprising fans in other countries will discover a way to conjure the products). It debuted with a pack of 12 cards/files, featuring such characters as Harry, Hermione, Ron, Draco and even Hedwig.

Continue Reading »

Funko conjures more adorable ‘Harry Potter’ Pop! figures

potter-social

Even as fans gear up for the release of the movie prequel Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Funko has unleashed another wave of Harry Potter Pop! vinyl figures.

Arriving in March, the new series features Harry Potter in his Triwizard Tournament uniform, Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger in their Yule Ball garb, Dobby the house-elf with a freeing sock, Sirius Black, Luna Lovegood, Draco Malfoy, a Dementor and Albus Dumbledore.

Continue Reading »

‘Harry Potter’ e-books boast beautiful new Olly Moss covers

moss-potter-social

Designer Olly Moss, well known for his striking movie posters and his occasional work for DC Comics, has created new covers for the worldwide digital release of the Harry Potter books, and they’re of course amazing.

Continue Reading »

From the Batcave to the Death Star: A visual guide to fictional locations

fictional-locations-social

U.K. company Rawlins Paints & Coatings has released “An Illustrated Guide to Iconic Fictional Locations,” showcasing memorable settings ranging from Superman’s Fortress of Solitude and Stark Tower to the Simpsons’ home and Walt and Jesse’s RV from Breaking Bad.

Continue Reading »

Hogwarts rises from pages of book in ‘Harry Potter’ stop-motion tribute

hogwarts

As a tribute to author J.K. Rowling, and the magical world of Harry Potter, the stop-motion animators at unPOP built a replica of Hogwarts using pages from The Prisoner of Azkaban.

They worked for more than a month on this charming short film, in which a boy sets aside the novel at bedtime, only for the spires of Hogwarts to rise (as if by magic!) from within, leaving enough paper to create an owl. Presumably Hedwig.

Continue Reading »

Four New Images from Illustrated “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone”

HPSocial

Accio new images from the upcoming “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: The Illustrated Edition.”

Entertainment Weekly conjured up four new pages from the upcoming illustrated edition of “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone,” which arrives in stores October 6. The images features a look at the hooped goals of the quidditch field, Albus Dumbledore and more.

Continue Reading »

Wayne Manor played host to the British Quidditch Cup

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Like something out of a particularly geeky dream, Wayne Manor played host over the weekend to a quidditch tournament.

It wasn’t just any quidditch tournament, however: It was the second British Quidditch Cup, played at Wollaton Hall and Park in Nottingham, the centuries-old country house that doubled as Bruce Wayne’s home in The Dark Knight Rises. (Perhaps not so coincidentally, Wollaton Hall is located just five miles north of Gotham.)

Continue Reading »

Watch as heroes collide in super-powered soccer game

super-hero-soccer

If you’ve never really gotten into soccer, it’s may be due to the sports disappointing lack of optic blasts, lightsabers and magic spells. Luckily for you, this video “Super Hero Soccer” remedies all of that.

Produced by Four32Productions and Dark Pixel, the short brings together a disparate group of heroes — from Superman and Wonder Woman to Neo and Desmond Miles to Spider-Man and Hermione Granger — for a no-holds, and no-powers, barred soccer match. It’s unclear who wins, or if they were even keeping score, as the game is called because of … well, you’ll see.

Continue Reading »

Warner Bros. allows CNN reporter into super-secret London warehouse

WarnerBrosArchive

Prepare your jealousy: For the first time ever, Warner Bros. Studios allowed a reporter and camera crew inside its super-secret warehouse on the outskirts of London.

CNN’s Max Foster got to explore an archive with more than 10,000 props and 3,000 costumes from the studio’s various franchises and big-budget blockbusters, including Batman, Harry Potter, Gravity and Edge of Tomorrow. After trying on a mech suit from Edge of Tomorrow and sitting in Sandra Bullock’s space shuttle from Gravity, Foster even went inside The Dark Knight Trilogy’s fully functional Tumbler.

Continue Reading »

First look at art from ‘Harry Potter’ illustrated editions

potter-kay3-cropped

Although there will probably never be sanctioned comic adaptations of the Harry Potter series, beginning this fall fans will get the next best thing: fully illustrated editions of J.K. Rowling’s bestselling fantasy novels.

Today Scholastic and Bloomsbury UK debuted four illustrations by Jim Kay (A Monster Calls) from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: Rubeus Hagrid, Hermione Granger, Draco Malfoy and Ron Weasley. The new hardcover will be published globally on Oct. 6.

Continue Reading »

Texas library rejects challenge to vampire books, dried roses

Vampire-Knight-1-200x300Just in time for Banned Books Week, the Cleveland, Texas, city council declined to act on a local pastor’s request that the public library remove all occult-themed books, including the wildly popular Vampire Knight manga series, from its young-adult room.

As we previously reported, Rev. Phillip Missick of the King of Saints Tabernacle Church addressed the city council on Aug. 12, demanding the “occultic and demonic room be shut down, and these books be purged from the shelves, and that public funds would no longer be used to purchase such material, or at least require parents to check them out for their children.”

Related: Banned Books Week and the “Dangers” of the Comic Book

He also complained about the decor of the Young Adult room, which includes a Sorting Hat and a figure of Dobby the Elf, both from Harry Potter, and a bouquet of dried roses. (We’ll get back to the roses.) Missick filed a formal Statement of Concern with the library, asking for the removal of five specific books, and he wrote a letter requesting a general ban on anything with an occult theme, saying, “As ministers of Christ, it is our responsibility to ‘watch’ and ‘warn’ against Satanic assaults against the hearts and minds of our children.”

Continue Reading »

Which states are the nerdiest? You may be surprised

Salt Lake Comic Con FanXperience

Salt Lake Comic Con FanXperience

I’ve never given any thought to which state might be considered the “nerdiest,” but if pressed I may have guessed California, with Hollywood, Silicon Valley and Comic-Con International, or Massachusetts, because of MIT and Harvard. However, it turns out I would’ve been way off.

Estately, the real estate blog that recently ranked the states most likely to survive a zombie apocalypse, has now turned its attention to the nerdiest states in America, and — surprise! — Utah comes out on top. I guess that helps explain why Salt Lake Comic Con and its FanXperience spinoff pull in such large crowds.

Continue Reading »

‘Harry Potter’ meets ‘Akira’ in ’80s-style anime mashup

akira-potter

Fans of both Harry Potter and Akira will likely find common ground in this well-executed video that reimagines J.K. Rowling’s saga of the boy-wizard as a 1980s cyberpunk anime.

Created by Nacho Punch, who also brought us Star Wars Anime, Harry Potter Cyber Punk Adventure: The 1980s Anime delivers such gems as a mashup of a Quidditch broomstick and Kaneda’s bike, “You’re a cyber-wizard, Harry!” and a Patronus Charm that looks as if it could level Neo-Hogwarts.

Continue Reading »

Conversing on Comics with Kazu Kibuishi

header

Kazu Kibuishi has found success in comics by charting his own path, one that took him from creating the Eisner-winning Copper to editing the acclaimed Flight anthologies to finding a home for his Amulet graphic novels at mainstream publisher Scholastic.

His work led him to be selected to create covers for the 15th anniversary re-release if J.K. Rowlings’ Harry Potter books. Kibuishi approached this prized assignment with reverence and deep knowledge for what Rowling and original illustrator Mary GrandPré did before, but infused the artwork with his own style to make the new editions stand out. And he took what he learned from that project back to his own books.

Continue Reading »


Browse the Robot 6 Archives