Harry Potter Archives - Robot 6 @ Comic Book Resources

Texas library rejects challenge to vampire books, dried roses

Vampire-Knight-1-200x300Just in time for Banned Books Week, the Cleveland, Texas, city council declined to act on a local pastor’s request that the public library remove all occult-themed books, including the wildly popular Vampire Knight manga series, from its young-adult room.

As we previously reported, Rev. Phillip Missick of the King of Saints Tabernacle Church addressed the city council on Aug. 12, demanding the “occultic and demonic room be shut down, and these books be purged from the shelves, and that public funds would no longer be used to purchase such material, or at least require parents to check them out for their children.”

Related: Banned Books Week and the “Dangers” of the Comic Book

He also complained about the decor of the Young Adult room, which includes a Sorting Hat and a figure of Dobby the Elf, both from Harry Potter, and a bouquet of dried roses. (We’ll get back to the roses.) Missick filed a formal Statement of Concern with the library, asking for the removal of five specific books, and he wrote a letter requesting a general ban on anything with an occult theme, saying, “As ministers of Christ, it is our responsibility to ‘watch’ and ‘warn’ against Satanic assaults against the hearts and minds of our children.”

Continue Reading »

Which states are the nerdiest? You may be surprised

Salt Lake Comic Con FanXperience

Salt Lake Comic Con FanXperience

I’ve never given any thought to which state might be considered the “nerdiest,” but if pressed I may have guessed California, with Hollywood, Silicon Valley and Comic-Con International, or Massachusetts, because of MIT and Harvard. However, it turns out I would’ve been way off.

Estately, the real estate blog that recently ranked the states most likely to survive a zombie apocalypse, has now turned its attention to the nerdiest states in America, and — surprise! — Utah comes out on top. I guess that helps explain why Salt Lake Comic Con and its FanXperience spinoff pull in such large crowds.

Continue Reading »

‘Harry Potter’ meets ‘Akira’ in ’80s-style anime mashup

akira-potter

Fans of both Harry Potter and Akira will likely find common ground in this well-executed video that reimagines J.K. Rowling’s saga of the boy-wizard as a 1980s cyberpunk anime.

Created by Nacho Punch, who also brought us Star Wars Anime, Harry Potter Cyber Punk Adventure: The 1980s Anime delivers such gems as a mashup of a Quidditch broomstick and Kaneda’s bike, “You’re a cyber-wizard, Harry!” and a Patronus Charm that looks as if it could level Neo-Hogwarts.

Continue Reading »

Conversing on Comics with Kazu Kibuishi

header

Kazu Kibuishi has found success in comics by charting his own path, one that took him from creating the Eisner-winning Copper to editing the acclaimed Flight anthologies to finding a home for his Amulet graphic novels at mainstream publisher Scholastic.

His work led him to be selected to create covers for the 15th anniversary re-release if J.K. Rowlings’ Harry Potter books. Kibuishi approached this prized assignment with reverence and deep knowledge for what Rowling and original illustrator Mary GrandPré did before, but infused the artwork with his own style to make the new editions stand out. And he took what he learned from that project back to his own books.

Continue Reading »

This collection grew from Muggles to Marvel

IMG_3234

What started as a collection of Harry Potter merchandise has grown well beyond that into comics, video games and much more — but that doesn’t mean you won’t find a Sorting Hat in the pictures below.

“I started collecting seriously when I was about 11,” says Jordan from Southern California, who is now 24. “I bought my first piece of Harry Potter merchandise, and I was committed. Up until about six months ago, my main collection could be considered a small museum of HP collectibles. Though since the books and movies have ended, I made the hard decision to move on from that and packed up 90 percent of it to be put into storage. I am now finally able to fully display my other interests and hobbies, and I hope you enjoy my new collection display as much as I do.”

Check out pictures and video of her comics, books, toys and collectibles below.

Continue Reading »

Six by 6 | Six multimedia franchises we’d welcome into comics

Header

There’s often a thin line between comics and other entertainment media, and we’ve seen a plethora of comic-book adventures translate successfully to television, film and video games. But it’s a two-way street: A number of other-media properties find immense success in comics. But in all of that back-and-forth action, there are six epic worlds of storytelling from other media that could be bestsellers, given the right creators and the right format. With that in mind, we take a look at a group of top-tier movie, video game and television franchises, and imagine what could happen if and when they make a jump to comics.

Continue Reading »

Ohio State band pays tribute to ‘Superman,’ ‘Harry Potter,’ more

ohio-state-band

The Ohio State University Marching Bad is sometimes referred to as the Best Damn Band in the Land, and with good reason: During Saturday’s game, the band performed a Hollywood medley featuring the themes from Superman, The Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Jurassic Park and Pirates of the Caribbean. But this being Ohio State, these weren’t straightforward renditions; no, they were performances, complete with a soaring Man of Steel, a Quidditch-playing Harry Potter and peckish T-rex. Watch for yourself below.

Continue Reading »

See Kazu Kibuishi’s final ‘Harry Potter’ cover, plus boxed set

kibuishi-deathly-hallows-cr

At a special event held today at The Scholastic Store in New York City, the publisher premiered cartoonist Kazu Kibuishi’s new cover for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the seventh and final book in J.K. Rowling’s blockbuster fantasy series.

Announced in February, the new covers by the acclaimed creator of Copper, Daisy Kutter and Amulet were commissioned to commemorate the 15th anniversary of the U.S. release of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. The complete series of new trade paperbacks will be available Aug. 27, along with a new boxed set featuring Kibuishi’s renditions of Hogwarts and Hogsmeade. You can see that artwork below.

However, that’s not the end of the reveals, as new back covers will debut at the rate of one a day from Aug 1. to Aug. 7.

Continue Reading »

SDCC ’13 | Kazu Kibuishi’s sixth ‘Harry Potter’ cover debuts

harry-potter-half-blood-cro

Scholastic unveiled the new cover by cartoonist Kazu Kibuishi for the sixth book in J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series, The Half-Blood Prince, during a party held last night at Comic-Con International in San Diego.

Announced in February, the new covers by the acclaimed creator of Copper, Daisy Kutter and Amulet were commissioned to commemorate the 15th anniversary of the U.S. debut of Rowling’s beloved fantasy series. The art for the seventh and final novel, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, will premiere July 31 at a birthday party for the books.

The new editions will be available beginning Aug. 27, with a boxed set scheduled for release in September.

Continue Reading »

SDCC ’13 | DC’s Diane Nelson on movies, Vertigo & Harry Potter

Diane Nelson

Diane Nelson

As the finishing touches are put on Comic-Con International ahead of Preview Night, The Hollywood Reporter releases an interview with DC Entertainment President Diane Nelson that’s a blend of polite sidestepping of delicate or unannounced subjects — the departure from Warner Bros. of her boss Jeff Robinov, Man of Steel 2, the long-developing Justice League movie — and insight into how the media giant views the DC properties.

Naturally, given the outlet, much of the discussion involves film and television, with Nelson addressing why she thinks Man of Steel succeeded while Green Lantern didn’t, and why DC’s movie plans have been developing so slowly, the conversation veers a little closer to comic books when she’s asked what five characters she’d like to seen on the screen.

Sandman is right on top,” Nelson responds. “I think it could be as rich as the Harry Potter universe. Fables. Metal Men. Justice League. And yes, I’m going to say it: Aquaman.”

Continue Reading »

Scholastic unveils Kazu Kibuishi’s third Harry Potter cover

harry-potter-prisoner-cropp

Scholastic is doing a slow rollout of Kazu Kibuishi’s new covers for the Harry Potter novels, and today at LeakyCon, a fan convention in Portland, Oregon, Arthur A. Levine Books unveiled the third one, The Prisoner of Azkaban. Scholastic will release a boxed set of all seven Harry Potter books on Aug. 27, just shy of the 15th anniversary of the debut of the first volume, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

Kibuishi, the creator of Copper and Amulet and the moving force behind the Flight anthologies, will be creating new covers for all seven of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter books, each one revolving around a crucial moment in the story.

Continue Reading »

Scholastic debuts Kazu Kibuishi’s latest ‘Harry Potter’ cover

chamber-of-secrets-cropped

Today at BookExpo America in New York City, Scholastic unveiled Kazu Kibuishi‘s new cover for the trade paperback edition J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

As we reported in February, the publisher turned to the acclaimed creator of Copper, Daisy Kutter and Amulet to illustrate seven new covers to commemorate the 15th anniversary of the U.S. debut of Rowling’s beloved fantasy series. Each cover will depict a memorable scene from the respective book; in this case, it’s Harry and the Weasley brothers riding in the flying car.

The entire collection will be released in September as a boxed set.

Continue Reading »

Harry Potter books to feature new covers by Kazu Kibuishi

That sound you hear is the collective gasp of millions of J.K. Rowling fans as Scholastic unveiled the new cover for Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by none other than Kazu Kibuishi, the acclaimed creator of Copper, Daisy Kutter and Amulet.

The cover is the first of seven illustrated by Kibuishi for the U.S. trade paperbacks commemorating the 15th anniversary of the U.S. debut of Rowling’s beloved fantasy series. According to Scholastic, each of the covers will depict a memorable moment from the respective book. The entire collection will be released in September as a boxed set. The American softcover editions have sported Mary GrandPré’s covers since 1998.

Continue Reading »

WJC’s Harry Potter marathon pays dividends

The man, the legend, Warwick Johnson Cadwell watched the entire series of Harry Potter films with his family over the Halloween holiday period. Mass sketching ensued, as you can see below.

Continue Reading »

Mike Mitchell re-skins Superman #6 with disturbing results

Illustrator Mike Mitchell, artist of the Tumblr-baiting Just Like Us series, has a new series on the go, re-skinning the classic strongman pose from the cover of Superman #6 with the wardrobe of other pop-culture icons. And the results are, to say the least, a little bit freaky. More below, and the full set so far can be seen here.

Continue Reading »


Browse the Robot 6 Archives