Les McClaine Archives - Robot 6 @ Comic Book Resources

‘The Middleman’ cast reunites for graphic novel script read

middleman

Following through on one of the promises of Javier Grillo-Marxuach’s successful Indiegogo campaign to fund a new Middleman graphic novel, the cast of the short-lived television adaptation reunited for a table read of The Pan-Universal Parental Reconciliation, which was of course captured on video.

“Why is this man smiling?” Grillo-Marxauch writes beneath a photo of himself at the reunion. “Might be that I am in the middle of one of the happiest moments in my middle-history!”

Continue Reading »

‘The Middleman’ plots return in crowd-funded graphic novel

middlemanFans of Javier Grillo-Marxuach and Les McClaine’s The Middleman, rejoice: The writer has announced plans to resurrect the beloved comic turned short-lived television series as graphic novel funded with the help of crowdfunding.

Debuting in 2005 from Viper Comics, The Middleman centers on Wendy Watson, a struggling young artist who’s recruited by a secret agency to fight evil alongside the Middleman, a title and job passed from one incarnation to the next. The comic was released as two miniseries and a graphic novel before it was optioned by ABC Family for the short-lived TV show starring Matt Keesler and Natalie Morales. A subsequent graphic novel, billed as the show’s “series finale,” was published in 2009.

According to the post on Grillo-Marxuach’s blog, McClaine will return for the new project, which bridges the comic-book and television continuities. What’s more, “the original series cast has agreed to reunite for a live reading of the script to serve as a crowdfunding premium.”

The crowdfunding effort is targeted to launch later this year, with the graphic novel to arrive in time for Comic-Con International 2014.

(via io9.com)

Wish This Was Real | Les McClaine’s adventures of young Doc Fiveash

Les McClaine (Middleman, The Tick, that incredibly awesome Batman poster) has a webcomic called Jonny Crossbones about the adventures of a skeleton-suited mechanic and the niece of a wealthy adventurer. They hunt pirate treasure in the first story and you should read it, but that’s not what this is about. It’s about these outstanding Tintin-esque covers that McClaine created to go on the wall of one of the characters in his comic. The character is Father Muzzey, companion to the aforementioned wealthy adventurer, and the covers depict the duo fighting Egyptian sewer-monsters, hunting Nosferatu and having their own version of a Nancy Drew adventure … with sledgehammers.

I’d read any of these, but the fact of the matter is that Johnny Crossbones is already very Hergé-like itself. Okay, maybe this post is about how you should go read that.

Continue Reading »

Middleman‘s Les McClaine creates Batman poster-as-comic titled ‘Mayhem At The Manor’

Comics creators come into the industry with a lot of talent and a lot of professionalism, but sometimes they do a project just as a sincere fan that blows your mind. This elaborate piece by artist Les McClaine (Middleman, The Tick) takes on Batman and his entire extended cast in a room-by-room battle inside Wayne Manor… all at once!

Click below to see the full picture.

Continue Reading »

First Second relaunches Derek Kirk Kim’s webcomic Tune

The webcomic Tune, by Derek Kirk Kim (The Eternal Smile, Same Difference and Other Stories), has been out there for a while, but now First Second is taking it under their wing and relaunching it with a new artist, Les McClaine, a new website, and new content. The comic tells the story of art school dropout Andy Go, who somehow ends up doomed to a life of incarceration in a parallel universe and has to figure a way out. It’s a classic sort of story but very nicely handled by Kim, who illustrated the first ten chapters. Although the comic is being relaunched this week, there are already quite a few chapters up from its earlier incarnation, so settle in for a good read. The comic will be updated every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, and although the press release doesn’t say so, I’m guessing that if First Second is taking it over, they will eventually publish a print edition.


Browse the Robot 6 Archives