Wonder Woman Archives - Page 2 of 24 - Robot 6 @ Comic Book Resources

Batman and Iron Man square off over ‘Dawn of Justice’

iron-cap-bat-man

Fans of DC Comics and Warner Bros.’ big-screen plans may cringe a little at this Dorkly video, in which classic arcade versions of Iron Man, Captain America, Batman and Superman square off over their upcoming movie team-ups, Civil War and Dawn of Justice.

Short version? Well, that Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice is essentially a lesser version of Captain America: Civil War, a stance that will undoubtedly launch a thousand Internet arguments. I’m not sure that holds much water, but the video is fun to watch as the Dark Knight turns his frustration on the Man of Steel.

Continue Reading »

Comics A.M. | Malaysian police seize copies of Zunar’s new book

Zunar

Zunar

Censorship | Police confiscated 200 copies of Malaysian cartoonist Zunar’s latest book, which lampoons the prime minister’s wife, as they were being transported to a book launch party on Saturday. Zunar, who was charged last week with sedition and held for three days because of a comment he made on Twitter, said every time he’s arrested, police raid his printer. Nonetheless, he encouraged the attendees at the launch party to order his books online, and said that ultimately, attempts to suppress him will backfire on the Malaysian government. [The Malaysian Insider]

Continue Reading »

Ride in superhero style with these custom motorcycle helmets

superhero-helmets

Last year we spotlighted a pretty stylish Dark Knight-inspired motorcycle helmet, but what if you prefer, say, The Punisher, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles or Wonder Woman to Batman? AirGraffix has you covered.

The Mattoon, Illinois-based company specializes in custom-painted helmets that can transform the rider into everyone from Goku and Deadpool to Iron Man and Spawn. It’s not all superheroes or comic books, either; there’s an assortment of Star Wars, Transformers and Power Rangers designs, for starters.

Continue Reading »

3-year-old marks last day of chemo by dressing as Wonder Woman

sophia-wonder-woman-cropped

Three-year-old Sophia Sandoval of San Antonio, Texas, was diagnosed in May with medulloblastoma, a brain tumor, leading to months of chemotherapy. On Friday, the Wonder Woman fan celebrated her final treatment by dressing up as one of her favorite superheroes, much to the delight of Lynda Carter.

In a photo posted Tuesday on the Jessie Rees Foundation Facebook page and then widely circulated through social media, Sophia strikes a pose while standing in her bed at San Antonio’s Methodist Children’s Hospital holding a sign that reads, “My Last Day of Chemo. It Was Tough But I Was Tougher.”

Continue Reading »

Comics A.M. | Zunar speaks against ‘cartoon’ government

Zunar's "Pirates of the Carry-BN"

Zunar’s “Pirates of the Carry-BN”

Creators | “This is really a government of the cartoon, for the cartoon and by the cartoon,” Malaysian cartoonist Zunar said in an interview following the police raid on his Kuala Lumpur office. Zunar was in London at the time of the raid but expects to be summoned to the police station on his return to face charges under the Printing Presses Act, Sedition Act and Penal Code. “Why are the police involved in this?” he said. “If it is true I have defamed certain people, why not filed a civil suit? The government condemned Charlie Hebdo’s attacker but now they are ‘attacking’ me.” He also sent out some photos of the raid. [Malaysian Digest]

Freedom of Speech | Phil Robertson, deputy director of Human Rights Watch Asia, called the raid Zunar’s office “shocking and outrageous” and demanded the government to return the confiscated books and drop all charges against him. [The Malaysian Insider]

Continue Reading »

DC Collectibles reveals Wonder Woman statue by Robert Valley

wonder-woman-valley2

You may recall those stylish DC Nation animated shorts by Robert Valley featuring a sunglasses-wearing Wonder Woman who cruises around in a classic Dodge Charger, fights a rollerskating Giganta and rescues a clueless Steve Trevor. If you don’t, you should watch them immediately (below), because they’re terrific — but also because DC Collectibles has unveiled a Wonder Woman statue based on Valley’s design.

Details are scant, but we know that it arrives this fall as part of the Wonder Woman: The Art of War line … and it’s pretty great-looking.

Continue Reading »

Ron Wimberly reimagines Wonder Woman as ‘WARP-D’

wimberly-wonder woman2

Prince of Cats creator Ron Wimberly, who recently floated his ideas for reimagining Marvel’s Blade and Cloak & Dagger, has now turned his attention to Wonder Woman for a print created the collective Out of Step Arts. This is no mere costume redesign, however. It’s a full-blown overhaul of the nearly 75-year-old superheroine that embraces elements of manga while stillremaining true to the character’s roots.

Continue Reading »

Comics A.M. | Manga is 80% of Japan’s digital book market

Shueisha's digital Jump Book Store

Shueisha’s digital Jump Book Store

Manga | Manga accounted for almost 80 percent of Japan’s digital book market in the 2013 fiscal year, according to a report released by the Yano Research Institute. The marketing research company predicts the country’s larger digital market, which is worth about $710 million, will see a 23.5 percent growth in the 2014 fiscal year. [Anime News Network]

Publishing | Tom Devlin, creative director of Drawn and Quarterly, talks about the unlikely success of Tove Jansson’s Moomin comics. [Montreal Gazette]

Comics | Noah Berlatsky writes about Wonder Woman the character and Wonder Woman the comic. [The Atlantic]

Continue Reading »

Fun from the Carter Administration in ‘Wonder Woman ’77’

wonder_woman_900x470

When the first few pages of Wonder Woman ’77‘s inaugural installment finds the Amazon Princess squaring off against a trio of Soviet roller-derby assassins, clearly it’s setting a very specific tone. DC’s latest digital-first series borrows its core conceit from the successful Batman ’66, presenting new comics stories from the world of an old TV adaptation.

Indeed, so far it’s fairly faithful to the show’s then-present-day setting, with Diana Prince and Steve Trevor working for a fictional government intelligence agency (the IADC) and getting their exposition from IRA the computer. Accordingly, in terms of period pieces, it’s not exactly The Americans, but writer Marc Andreyko and artist Drew Johnson have done a great job capturing both the look of the show and the style of its leads. Their Lynda Carter is spot-on, and their Lyle Waggoner evokes TV-Steve’s sparkly toothed swagger perfectly. Johnson (with colorist Romulo Fajardo Jr.) draws an especially detailed 1977, from the subtleties of Wonder Woman’s costume to the crowds at Studio 52. (Of course it’s “Studio 52.”)

Continue Reading »

Shelf Porn | A Wonder-ful collection from California

ww900x470

Happy New Year and welcome to Shelf Porn, our weekly glance into one fan’s collection. Today’s shelves come from Jason in California, who shows us his sharply designed shelves of action figures and Wonder Woman stuff.

If you’d like to see your collection featured here on Robot 6, you can find complete details at the end of this post.

And now here’s Jason …

Continue Reading »

Des Taylor shows DC superheroines in their downtime

good_morning_wonder_woman_by_despop-d88526p

Being a superhero may be a full-time job, but everyone’s got to have a life outside of work … right? Artist Des Taylor, creator of the upcoming series Scarlett Couture, answered that question recently with illustrations featuring the likes of Wonder Woman, Black Canary, Batgirl and Lois Lane, and they don’t disappoint.

“There are enough artists drawing them kicking the hell out of each other,” Taylor writes on his deviantART page. “I like to illustrate my favourite heroes doing everyday casual stuff.”

Continue Reading »

Grumpy Old Fan | 10 from 2014, 10 for 2015

Ring in 2015?

Ring in 2015?

As the new year is still fairly new, it’s time once again to revisit some old speculation, and offer a fresh batch.

2015 promises to be an unusual year for DC Comics, thanks to a couple of well-publicized real-world events: moving its offices from New York to California, and publishing two months’ worth of retro-themed comics while the regular series take a break. Although I’m getting tired of writing about these things, they will continue to dominate DC news for the next little while. Accordingly, counterintuitive though it may be, this week I’m going to resist talking about them as much as possible. You know they’re coming, I know they’re coming; but let’s try to find some other topics in the meantime.

Now to catch up on 2014’s items:

1. Anniversaries. Besides Batman’s 75th, which naturally got lots of play, I noted that last year was the 50th anniversary of the Teen Titans, the 55th of the Silver Age Green Lantern, Nightwing’s 30th, Zero Hour’s 20th and Identity Crisis’ 10th. The Titans got a commemorative hardcover and IC likewise received a new edition. However, Nightwing-the-series ended in 2014, as Nightwing-the-identity was exposed and Dick Grayson got a new spy-oriented comic. I also wondered whether the 50th anniversary of Batman’s “New Look” would get some special attention (it didn’t, unless you count the flood of Batman ‘66 love that accompanied the long-awaited home video releases of the New Look-inspired series).
Continue Reading »

DC Collectibles spotlights new Wonder Woman statue

wonder-woman-statue

DC Collectibles has released a video showcasing its upcoming DC Comics Cover Girl: Wonder Woman statue.

Solicited last month for release in July, the statue is designed by artist Stanley “Artgerm” Lau, and sculpted by Jack Mathews, the approximately 10-inch statue is a limited edition (5,200) priced at $99.95.

Continue Reading »

Comics A.M. | Defiant ‘Charlie Hebdo’ plans to publish next week

"Je Suis Charlie"

“Je Suis Charlie”

Publishing | The French satire magazine Charlie Hebdo will be published next week, to demonstrate that “stupidity will not win,” according to columnist Patrick Pelloux. Ten of the magazine’s staff members were among those killed Wednesday when three armed men attacked their Paris headquarters, apparently because Charlie Hebdo published cartoons mocking the Prophet Muhammad. [The Guardian]

Political cartoons | Adam Taylor looks at the history of controversies regarding depictions of the Prophet Muhammad. [The Washington Post]

Political cartoons | Cartoonist and syndicator Daryl Cagle pens a remembrance four of the slain Charlie Hebdo cartoonists, some of whom he knew personally, and also talks about the importance of editorial cartooning in France. [Darylcagle.com]

Continue Reading »

LEGO releases Wonder Woman’s invisible jet

lego-invisible-jet

LEGO is starting to roll out its superhero sets for the New Year, and one in particular is sure to catch the eyes of comic fans and collectors alike. While it may not be completely invisible, LEGO’s newest DC Super Heroes set features a smaller version of Wonder Woman’s invisible jet. io9 has posted photos and details on the new LEGO building set, which will retail for about $50 and officially goes on sale Thursday.

Continue Reading »


Browse the Robot 6 Archives